Can He Still Feel the Nails?

wooden-end-grain-texture

And then have fallen away, to restore them again to repentance, since they are crucifying once again the Son of God to their own harm and holding him up to contempt. (Heb.6:6)

Anyone who knows me knows that I love to sing, especially when it comes to singing praise to our God. One of my favorite songs is one that we often sing with our young people entitled, “Can He Still Feel the Nails?” It always causes me to pause and think about the sins with which I so often struggle. Frequently (far more than I want), I find myself giving into some temptation. Later, I regret what I have done, having failed my Lord again. Perhaps if I would envision the nails in the hands and feet of Jesus, I would be far less likely to succumb to the temptations that come my way. If I could only realize that my sins continue to cause him pain, how would I view that fleeting moment of pleasure? My sins caused Jesus to go to the cross, and my sins continue to break the heart of him who died for me. The writer of Hebrews speaks of crucifying afresh the Son of God (Heb.6:6). I must realize that my sins not only harm me and those I love, but my sin is ultimately against my God (Gen.39:9). The pain Jesus suffered in going to the cross was awful and excruciating enough. Let’s do our best to see that we bring him honor and glory and joy rather than pain.

“Father, we praise you for your grace offered to us through Jesus. Help us to ever keep before us the pain, anguish, loneliness, and shame that he endured for us at Calvary. Help us to realize that our sins that we commit cause him pain. Forgive us when we lose sight of the pain that sin brings to self, to others, and ultimately to you. In Jesus’ name. Amen.”

Leave a comment